Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

Meet Sofia!

Hello, my name is Sofia Vilches (she/her) and I am the Marketing and Development Intern here at Primary Stages! I was the intern in the fall, and loved it so much I was honored to be asked to stay on for another semester. I am a second semester senior at Marymount Manhattan College, finishing up my BFA in Musical Theatre, with a minor in Arts Management. I am originally from Portland, Oregon, and made the big cross country leap to come to college in New York City three and a half years ago. Best decision I have ever made! I am half Chilean, and have lived in Chile, Mexico, and Cuba with my family. 

One of the reasons I was able to come to school in NYC was thanks to a playwriting scholarship I won in high school, so I was so excited when I found out about Primary Stages and their dedication to producing new works. They are also dedicated to having important conversations, supporting artists, patrons, and students, and especially to keeping theatre arts alive during this crazy pandemic!

This internship is definitely not a traditional one, as we are all working remotely. Luckily, the people of Primary Stages are so fun to work with, even through a Zoom screen. I have learned so much, and was even inspired to apply to grad schools to further study arts management. My goal is to work at a NYC theatre, while auditioning and continuing to perform. I love musical theatre, and art that sparks conversation. Especially now, I am inspired to create and see what others are creating. This internship is an incredible experience for me, and has encouraged me to be the multi-hyphenated artist that I have always wanted to be.

Fun Facts: I have a gluten allergy (not so fun), I am addicted to matcha lattes, I am a major night owl, and I speak Spanish!

Leave a comment